Security Council

President: Gerardo Calderón Huerta 

Chair: Angélica Belén Trejo Lares, Danna Fabiola Altamirano Rodríguez, Arantxa Olivares Bocanegra, Daniel Hilario Salazar Meléndez y Marco Moctezuma Núñez

Topic A) Measures to stop the criminal cybernetic groups commanded by Darkside based in the Russian Federation and Eastern Europe regarding the recent attacks made to The United States of America

​Topic B) Mechanisms to address the growing crisis regarding naval disputes located in the South China Sea region




Committee's outline and faculties

The Security Council has the responsibility of maintaining international peace and security following the principles and purposes of the United Nations Charter. The Security Council is composed of 15 nations, five permanent members (the People's Republic of China, the French Republic, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and the United States of America), and ten rotating non-permanent members elected for two-year terms. Each nation has one vote, and all members must comply with the decisions taken. Since its establishment, the Council has authorized peacekeeping missions, put in place international sanctions targeting the finances and access to weapons of rogue regimes as well as extremist groups, deepen international cooperation on matters of international violence and nuclear nonproliferation.


To accomplish its mission, the Council has the following functions and powers:

  • Guarantee international peace and security.

  • Analyze any dispute that may lead to international friction.

  • Recommend strategies for adjusting international conflicts.

  • Formulate plans for the regulation of armament.

  • Apply economic sanctions and other measures avoiding the use of force or military intervention to stop or prevent hostilities.

  • Establish subsidiary bodies to achieve the Council’s main objective.

  • Take military action against an aggressor.