top of page


International Criminal Court

President: Manuel Alejandro Grajales Santillán


Case A) The Prosecutor v. Saif Al-Islam Gaddafi

Case B) The Prosecutor v. Patrice-Edouard Ngaissona Abdel Raheem Muhammad Hussein

Background and faculties of the committee

The International Criminal Court investigates and prosecutes people accused of the most serious crimes that concern the international community. The Court is taking part in an international campaign to eradicate impunity, hoping to hold those guilty people accountable for their crimes, intending to prevent similar violations from occurring in the future. The International Criminal Court (ICC) is the world's first permanent international criminal court that is supervised and governed by an international treaty known as the Rome Statute. There are 18 judges that conform the Court, which are selected by the Assembly of State Parties.


The International Court of Justice has jurisdiction over the four main and principal crimes which are genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity, and aggression ; it can prosecute crimes against humanity but only if these are based on the 15 forms of crime that the Rome Statute establishes. The Court can exercise the jurisdiction of certain violations or crimes, if these were committed on or after 1 July of 2002. Since the ICC is a judicial institution, it does not have its own enforcement bodies or police, due to this, it relies on the global cooperation of other countries for applying and doing certain actions such as: making arrests, transferring arrested persons to the ICC detention center in The Hague, freezing suspects’ assets, and enforcing sentences. The ICC isn’t affiliated to the United Nations Organization, nevertheless both institutions have a cooperation agreement, in which the United Nations Security Council can refer a situation to the Court by giving them the jurisdiction of it. The Court  can investigate and prosecute individuals only if the State implicated cannot or is unwilling to do it; the ICC prosecutes individuals, not groups or countries by following a specific policy which focuses on those who are most accountable for the crimes.

bottom of page