top of page


Caribbean Court of Justice

President: Bruno Ramírez Barcelata

Chair: Regina Lacorte Mariscal, Paulo Souto Núñez, Paulette Mayén Álvarez, Yésika Pamela García Trejo, Samantha Berenice Saavedra Ponce

Topic A) Barbados Royal Police Force Incident involving Tamika and Lynnel Gilbert on October 11th 2016 (Gilbert Family v. The State of Barbados).

​Topic B) The State of Trinidad and Tobago 's non-appliance of the Common External Tariff in the acquisition of brown sugar from non-member countries of the Caribbean Community  (The State of Belize v. The State of Trinidad and Tobago).

Background and powers of the committee

The Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) was founded in 2005 with the mission to provide accessible, fair, and efficient justice to the people and states of the Caribbean Region. The Court is a hybrid institution that consists of a municipal court of last resort and an international court vested with original, compulsory, and exclusive jurisdiction in respect of the interpretation and application of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas. Treaty that was signed in 2006, establishing the Caribbean Comunity (CARICOM) in order to achieve sustained economic development based on international competitiveness, coordinated economic and external policies and functional cooperation. The CCJ has the objective of protecting and promoting the appropriate condition of the rights while acting as a final appeal court, by ensuring accessibility, equity, and transparency by serving in a transparent way in 15 countries of the Caribbean Region.


The Caribbean Court of Justice works as the main interpreter of the Treaty establishing the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), with responsibility for ensuring its implementation. Its status as a court of appeal also allows it to consider and determine appeals in criminal and civil matters before customary courts with jurisdiction in CARICOM States. In its appellate jurisdiction, the CCJ hears and determines appeals in both civil and criminal matters from common law courts within the jurisdictions of Member States of the Community and which are parties to the Agreement Establishing the CCJ. In its appellate jurisdiction, the Court is the highest municipal court in the region for states which accede to its appellate jurisdiction. Most importantly the court functions as two courts in one by protecting the rights of countries, businesses, and citizens of CARICOM nations, further the court serves as the final court of appeal for member states that want to use it as a search.
bottom of page